Misc. 1930/31 Newport Docks GWR Loco XV v Carmarthen GWR Loco XV

Great Western Railway All-line Cup Final played at the Neath RFC Ground

NEWPORT DOCKS GWR Loco xv  – v – CARMARTHEN GWR Loco xv             

SEASON 1930 – 31


Newport Docks XV

J. O’Neill (Abertillery); H. Vaughan (Pill); A.Stock (Newport); 

J. Wetter (Captain – Wales/Newport); S. J. Mountain/H. Rich (Newport);

 J. F. Swallow (Cross Keys); J. O. Brien (Penarth); B. Thomas (Newport Docks);

 A. Abraham/G. Manley/H. Sayfell/A.G.Westbury/E. Brown (Pill Harriers

 H. Roberts (Blaenavon), B. Parfitt (Replaced one of the above on the day);

Carmarthen XV

 Morgan Jones, W. Thomas, Leslie Phillips (Carmarthen Quins), Reg Phillips,

 S. Stephens, Llew Thomas, Alf Jones, W.J. Orman (Captain – Carmarthen Quins), 

S. Davies (Carmarthen Quins), S. Evans, Gill Evans (Carmarthen Quins), Wil Rowlands,

A. Evans, V. Hughes, C. Roberts.

 Newport Loco XV 19pts  –  Carmarthen Loco XV 18

 This Great Western Railway All-line Cup Final was played at Neath on Saturday 11th April 1931. Newport won by the narrowest of margins – two converted goals and three tries (19 points) to a converted goal, a dropped goal, two penalty goals and a try (18 points). Carmarthen scored a try near to the posts at the end of the game and missed the conversion which would have given them victory.