Cardiff RFC was founded in 1876 as a result of the amalgamation of Glamorgan and Cardiff Wanderers. They soon moved from their original home venue in Sophia Gardens to the Arms Park. The ground, donated by the Marquis of Bute was named after the local Cardiff Arms public house.
The team are now called the “Blue and Blacks” after their iconic strip but what would they be called if they had kept their original colours of black with a skull and cross bones on the front? They changed their kit when parents complained of the inappropriate nature of their strip.
Cardiff, due to a shortage of forwards, was also the first team to play with seven backs which now, of course, has been adopted universally.
Games at the very highest level have been played at the iconic ArmsPark, in it various guises over the years, starting with its first International Match in 1884 – a win for Wales against Ireland. With high quality matches comes high quality players and Cardiff has been blessed to have giants playing for them. Wilf Wooller, Dr. Jack Matthews, Bleddyn Williams, Cliff Morgan, Gareth, Gerald and “the King” are just a few who have brought honour to their team and that hallowed turf. In fact Cardiff has supplied more Welsh Internationals and British Lions than any other Welsh club. This tradition is still continuing with the likes of Leigh Halfpenny and Jamie Roberts.
Cardiff’s Recent Roll of Honour:
Domestic Cup Champions – 1981, 1982, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1994 & 1997.
Welsh League Champions – 1995.
Welsh/Scottish League Champions – 2000.
Principality Premiership Champions – 2009
Heineken Cup Finalists – 1996.
Beat “The All Blacks” 8-3 in 1953.
Beat “ The Springboks” 17-0 in 1907.
Beat “ The Wallabies” six times between 1908 and 1984.
Recent Record – Cardiff v. Quins
Quins Won 3 Drawn 0 Lost 9
Also lost once in the Cup but won 17-11 in 2005.
Carmarthen Quins 42 Cardiff 10
Reporter ~ Keith Bond